Online Databases
Below are various online databases that your library has purchased so that you may use them free of charge. Enjoy!

On a mobile device? There’s an app for that! Check out AccessMyLibrary on the App Store (click here) or the Android Market (click here) for mobile access to some of these databases listed below.
Biography In Context

Online database of biographies of personalities famous in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts. Biographical information on over one million people throughout history & around the world, with video, audio clips and images of the world’s most studied figures. Articles added daily from current newspapers and magazines.
Career Transitions Database

The Jobs section of Career Transitions gives you ways to search for jobs and internships, wizards for creating professional-looking resumes and cover letters, job-hunting tips and advice, and ways to practice interviewing for jobs.
The Careers section of the Career Transitions database provides ways to identify career interests, browse career paths, match experience to new careers, and search schools and programs for further education.
ChiltonLibrary

ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, OEM maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for foreign and domestic automobiles and light trucks from 1940-present, all printable from home or at your library.
Contemporary Authors

Find biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors’ comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a perfect source for school papers, general interest, and college research, a single source aimed at the needs of students, researchers, professionals and general readers, offering more than 7,000 authoritative, full-text subject encyclopedias and other reference sources within 18 subject areas that researchers study most.
Global Road Warrior

Access regularly updated travel and professional information, high-resolution maps, and culture reports. 175 countries – from A to Z, it’s all at your fingertips! Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries with up-to-date information on business culture, security, communications, demographics, society, money and banking, transportation, points of interest, culture, tips for businesswomen, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs of destinations all over the globe.
Health and Wellness Resource Center

The Health and Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more, contains both scholarly articles as well as general interest health articles, and includes information on alternative medicine as well as videos and links to other health websites.
Health Reference Center Academic

Includes over 2800 nursing & medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. Use this database to find articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and thousands of other health topics.
HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin?
- U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades.
- Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books.
- Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index of genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
- Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files that help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
- Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
- LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, and private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.
Indiana History Online

This digital archive documents Indiana state history and provides access to a wide variety of original documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children’s books.
Indiana Legal Forms Library

Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues, with most Indiana legal forms available to print. Customize the forms to your specific need, complete the form online then save and print.
Informe!

Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides full-text of popular Hispanic magazines – not just translations of English-language magazines.
Inspire Indiana

Indiana’s Virtual Library, a freely-available, Internet-accessible array of information resources to help researchers, writers, and explorers of all ages find the answers they need to questions of all sorts. Students, professionals, and ordinary Indiana citizens alike can search to their hearts’ content – free of charge! The INSPIRE databases listed below are always ready when you are – just go to www.inspire.IN.gov to get started.
(If your internet service provider serves multiple states, register for an INSPIRE username and password on your first visit.)
Academic Search Premier
Bartleby
Biomedical Reference Collection
Business Source Premier
Contemporary Authors Online
Corporate ResourceNet
Datamonitor Corporate Information
Directory of Open Access Journals
eBooks
EBSCO Animals
EBSCOHost
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Google Scholar
GreenFILE
Health Business FullTEXT
Health Reference Center Academic
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center
Image Collection
KidsClick
Lexi-Pals Drug Database
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
MAS Ultra–School Edition
MasterFILE Premier
McClatchy-Tribune Collection
MEDLINE/MedlinePlus
Middle Search Plus
Military & Government Collection
Newspaper Source
Primary Search
Professional Development Collection
Regional Business News
TeachingBooks.net
TOPICsearch
What Tree Is That?
Learning Express Library

Each Learning Center offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. From elementary school skills to preparing for college placement tests, from improving workplace skills to U.S. Citizenship, from earning a GED to landing a job? You’ll find an entire Learning Center for each, dedicated to helping you get the skills that move you forward to where you need to go!
Litfinder

LitFinder is a great resource for finding full-text literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches. LitFinder covers all time periods, with works from over 80,000 authors from 660 nationalities. It contains more than 140,000 poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 short stories and novels, 3,800 essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 speeches, and 1,250 plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
Military and Intelligence Collection

Periodicals in the Military and Intelligence Database have been hand-selected to meet the needs of military personnel, with more than 500 journal titles and more than 7 million articles.
Military and Intelligence Database

The Military and Intelligence Database contains over 400 journals covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: the socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection’s current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing Resource Center

Designed for nursing students, this database includes disease & drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams and core encyclopedia texts. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.
Powerspeak Languages

Learn Spanish, French, Mandarin Chinese, German, and English for Spanish speakers! Powerspeak Languages simulates gradual immersion into a new language through a series of stories, activities and learning exercises.
Price it! Antiques and Collectibles

The antiques and collectibles market is one of the fastest growing market segments in the U.S., with an estimated 30% of the population collecting something. Price It! Antiques & Collectibles helps identify, research and price art, antiques and collectibles, with over 23 million records and 10 million images; with 2 million records being added every month; includes sales information from stores, auction houses and online auctions dating back to 1998.
Salem Health Encyclopedias
Ebook versions of the acclaimed Salem Press Health Encyclopedias on the following subjects:
- Complementary & Alternative Medicine
- Genetics
- Cancer
- Infectious Diseases & Conditions
- Psychology & Mental Health
- Magill’s Medical Guide
Salem History Encyclopedias
Ebook versions of the acclaimed Salem Press History Encyclopedias on the following subjects:
- Religious documents
- American immigration
- Athletes
- Inventors and inventions
- American business
Salem Literature Encyclopedias
Ebook versions of the acclaimed Salem Press Literature Encyclopedias on the following subjects:
- Heroes & superheroes of graphic novels
- Independent & underground classic graphic novels
- Critical surveys of poetry and long & short fiction
Salem Science Encyclopedias
Ebook versions of the acclaimed Salem Press Science Encyclopedias on the following subjects:
- Applied science
- Mathematics and society
- The solar system
Science in Context

With Science in Context, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites, and offers a tool for teachers to link topics and content to current state and national educational standards.
Small Business Resource Center

This resource for small business owners & operators covers all areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more, including Community links, business plans and tax advising, and online access to books and journals on management.
Testing & Education Reference Center

With over 300 practice tests and courses, dozens of eBooks containing valuable study material and practice tests, information on over 4,000 accredited schools, scholarship search tools featuring $8 billion in available scholarships, a resume builder with over 1,000 brainstorming phrases to get you started, and career modules covering subjects from career change to salary negotiations, the Testing & Education Reference Center is a start-to-finish resource with all the information and support materials needed to make informed, confident decisions to shape the rest of your life. This resource contains study guides and practice tests for all standardized high school and college entrance exams such as SAT, ACT, and GRE, Advanced Placement and GED tests, as well as vocational exams for military, nursing, truckers, teachers, and much more.