On Monday, January 27th, the Youth Media Awards were announced at the annual ALA Midwinter Conference. These awards include the Newbery award, the Caldecott award, and many more; below are the winning and honored books for young adults. Take a look and see how many you have read.


The Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature. This year’s winner and honors are


In Darkness by Nick Lake


  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • Code Name Verty by Elizabeth Wein
  • Dodger by Terry Pratchett
  • The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna.


YALSA’s Teens’ Top Ten

The Teens’ Top Ten is a “teen choice” list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Nominators are members of teen book groups in sixteen school and public libraries around the country. This year’s top 10 winners are

  1. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  2. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
  3. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  4. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
  5. Poison Princess by Kresley Cole
  6. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  7. Crewel by Gennifer Albin
  8. Every Day by David Levithan
  9. Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross
  10. Butter by Erin Jade Lange


The Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. This year’s winners are

  • Caring is Creepy by David Zimmerman
  • Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
  • Juvenile in Justice by Richard Ross
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  • My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf
  • One Shot at Forever by Chris Ballard
  • Pure by Juliana Baggott
  • The Round House by Louise Erdrich
  • Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple


The Edwards Award

The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. This year’s winner is

Markus Zusak for The Book Thief


The Nonfiction Award

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. This year’s winner is

The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spie and Survivors Captures the World’s Most Nortorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb


The Odyssey Award

This annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults. This year’s winner is

Scowler by Daniel Kraus, narrated by Kirby Heyborne.